Why “cool” needs to die a death

Ace Ventura doesn't care about cool, and I dig that.
Ace Ventura doesn’t care about cool, and I dig that.

We all know that prejudice against others for their social status has been drilled into us since the dawn of time; even cavemen surly snubbed others for not living up to their contrived standards of living and behaving. But I, working and studying in the midst of youth around people who think they are supreme to others simply because of those they ‘hang’ with, am getting pretty tired of the notion of ‘cool’. The idea that you’re better than someone because you wear different clothes, take up different hobbies, study different subjects with contrasting levels of commitment, drive a different car (or drive at all) or listen to different music seems absurd.
What I’m trying to say is that I’m sick of people who mock the ‘uncool’. Let me tell you a little secret: the easiest way for a person to gain respect from peers is by simply not giving a f**k what other people think, for, as Dr Seuss once put it; “Say what you feel and be who you are, as the ones the mind don’t matter, and the ones who matter don’t mind” Perfect. If you wander around, completely content in your own skin, in your favourite clothes, listening to music you genuinely enjoy or playing a sport that you sincerely appreciate, then people can’t knock you for having the courage to do so.
I have personally tried to live by the idea that I will be pleasant and respectful to all, regardless of their social standings and whether or not they’re ‘cool’, and if they’re rude in return, they’re simply not worth bothering with. I may not have always fulfilled this, but at least I try; what else can we do? I will conclude my thoughts with a quote from Eminem: “I don’t care if you’re black, white, straight, bisexual, gay, lesbian, short, tall, fat, skinny, rich or poor. If you’re nice to me, I’ll be nice to you. Simple as that.” Yeah brother, and in my opinion, I don’t care if you’re cool either.
Written: March 2013

Published by

bryonywrites

I like to write, I have no preferred style or format of writing but I usually enjoy recounting a funny story or describing my surroundings. I enjoy heated debates about society and ideologies, I have an appreciation of the great outdoors, I relish in the company of others, I'm very much a morning person, I love practising Te Waza in Judo, and I hope one day to build my own dwelling (I won't say house as that sounds terribly proper).

One thought on “Why “cool” needs to die a death”

Leave a Reply

