Why I am pro-choice

Just three days ago I woke from a nightmare so real that I genuinely believed I was faced with the decision of abortion or motherhood. It felt completely real and I honestly felt like I was in that situation. In the nightmare I was in the early stages of pregnancy. Words cannot express the sense of fear and isolation that shook me to my core. Although there is no danger of me becoming pregnant soon and it was only a nightmare, I have new found empathy for those who are faced with such a situation in their real life; regardless of the consequences under which they became pregnant. At one point in the nightmare I was walking towards the clinic with people shouting “Shame on you!” and “You disgust me!” in my direction and they had signs with foetuses on.
To any woman who finds themselves in such a predicament; my heart goes out to you. The pro-lifers will hate me for this, but I believe that it’s important to bring up a generation of people that are truly loved and cared for, not because their parents were forced to have them. Although I do believe in the importance of all human life, I think that everyone should have the option of a safe, clean termination if they so wish.
Those who heckle and wield signs at people heading into an abortion clinic; do you not think they have tortured themselves enough over such a decision? It’s not something to be taken lightly. The hecklers also have no idea about the condition of the foetus; I have read a moving story on Aaron Gouveia and his wife who found out their unborn child had Sirenomelia, so they had almost no choice but to abort, and Aaron confronted the pro-life protesters outside the clinic.
I genuinely believe it is up to the mother to decide whether or not they should abort their unborn child; it is not for society, not for the law, not for the church or any other self-righteous people to make such a life-changing decision. That is why I’m pro-choice. I will leave you with a quote from Caitlin Moran: “I cannot understand anti-abortion arguments that centre on the sanctity of life. As a species, we’ve fairly comprehensively demonstrated that we don’t believe in the sanctity of life. The shrugging acceptance of war, famine, epidemic, pain and lifelong, grinding poverty show us that, whatever we tell ourselves, we’ve made only the most feeble of efforts to really treat human life as sacred.” The international population has a lot of work to do on everything else that threatens human life before criticising others decision to have an abortion.
Written: April 2013

Published by

bryonywrites

I like to write, I have no preferred style or format of writing but I usually enjoy recounting a funny story or describing my surroundings. I enjoy heated debates about society and ideologies, I have an appreciation of the great outdoors, I relish in the company of others, I'm very much a morning person, I love practising Te Waza in Judo, and I hope one day to build my own dwelling (I won't say house as that sounds terribly proper).

Leave a Reply

