What a Girls Bed Means to Her

IMG_3634Being an eighteen year old girl myself, I can only speak for those of a similar temperament when I emphasize the inviolability of ones own bed. A girls bed must have a (preferably large) soft mattress that can withstand numerous lazy days, while the occupant lye’s atop the mountain of feather duvets and floral pillows eating Jaffa Cakes and pizza while trying to console her woes. The other requirement of a girls bed is fairy lights, or some kind of similar soft lighting to surround the area so that she may read until 3 am if necessary, wiping tears from her tired face whilst finishing a soppy book, or delving into renaissance poetry.
For, a girls bed, I must explain is a place of privacy and comfort; a place where she need not wear makeup, underwear, conform to social stereotypes or even interact with others unless invited to do so. It is imperative that the small patch of seclusion and peace remains such a place and is not invaded by intruders or those who enter uninvited.
It is a place of luxury; fresh sheets and a turned mattress at the end of a long day is all I want when my feet have been squeezed into heels and my back aches from desk-leaning. A girls bed is also a fantasy land. HAHA! I hear you cry. What fantasies do you speak of? Well, if you’ve ever read any Nicholas Sparks Literature you’ll catch my drift. The ability to lie on one side of your own bed and picture a loved one snoozing on the other is crucial when considering the privacy of your own space.
Carol Anne Duffy once wrote to open her poem Anee Hathaway: “The bed we loved in was a spinning world of forests, castles, torchlight, clifftops, seas where we would dive for pearls.” … you see what I’m saying? A bed is more than just a piece of furniture; it is a physical metaphor for the emotions and intimacy of a young woman. And I have mine all to myself.
Written: May 2013

Published by

bryonywrites

I like to write, I have no preferred style or format of writing but I usually enjoy recounting a funny story or describing my surroundings. I enjoy heated debates about society and ideologies, I have an appreciation of the great outdoors, I relish in the company of others, I'm very much a morning person, I love practising Te Waza in Judo, and I hope one day to build my own dwelling (I won't say house as that sounds terribly proper).

2 thoughts on “What a Girls Bed Means to Her”

Leave a Reply

