What’s the E-Spliff all about?

Just over a month ago a Dutch firm E-Njoint BV brought out the new E-spliff. The product is nicotine, tobacco and THC free, but is still supposedly has the medicinal benefits of of real marijuana. I’m not sure how that can be as the vapors contain plant based products and propylene glycerol. Still, the manufacturers claim that is is selling well for many summer festivals and events and they are producing over 10,000 a day so it must be popular with people wanting to replace their pot smoking habit or enjoy a legal high of some sort.

It does raise questions for me though… I feel that the government have not fully considered the ethics of having such a product on the market. Surely the E-Spliff stylizes the consumption of recreational drugs through it’s neon green light-up leaf and sleek tubing? Is it not obvious that people who buy this product have smoked marijuana and may use it as a replacement while dealers are thin on the ground? To ignore the demographic this product is marketed at is to ignore a huge culture of people who may use the drug for medicinal purposes such a pain relief, insomnia and muscle spasm as well as those taking recreational drugs. But it is the THC content in marijuana which can alleviate these problems, so surely the vaporising E-spliff is just an accessory?

I believe having this product on the market in the UK yet disallowing people to grow their own hemp and marijuana plants seems backwards; it’s almost like making growing your own poppies illegal, but legalizing Heroin and Morphine as a recreational drug.

Either way, I think in selling this product in a country that comes down heavily on drug takers, dealers, and growers, it is contradicting the reason for actually making marijuana a class B drug and surely inhaling glycerol vapours isn’t all that good either?

Published by

bryonywrites

I like to write, I have no preferred style or format of writing but I usually enjoy recounting a funny story or describing my surroundings. I enjoy heated debates about society and ideologies, I have an appreciation of the great outdoors, I relish in the company of others, I'm very much a morning person, I love practising Te Waza in Judo, and I hope one day to build my own dwelling (I won't say house as that sounds terribly proper).

Leave a Reply

